Until 26 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket


Berliner Philharmoniker
Iván Fischer

Olaf Maninger, Lisa Batiashvili

  • Hans Werner Henze
    Epitaph for violoncello solo (00:04:28)

    Olaf Maninger Violoncello

  • Igor Stravinsky
    Jeu de cartes (00:26:06)

  • Sergei Prokofiev
    Violin Concerto in D major (00:27:31)

    Lisa Batiashvili Violin

  • Dmitri Shostakovich
    From Dance of the Dolls (arr. Tamas Batiashvili) (00:04:34)

    Lisa Batiashvili Violin

  • Antonín Dvořák
    Symphony No. 8 in G major (00:44:05)

  • free

    Iván Fischer in conversation with Simon Halsey (00:20:36)

Lisa Batiashvili’s playing has a luminous inward quality; it is gripping and inspired, virtuosic and intelligent. So opined the critic of Berlin’s Tagesspiegel after the Georgian violinist’s Philharmonic debut in 2004. On that occasion she presented Beethoven’s Violin Concerto. This season, with Hungarian conductor Iván Fischer on the rostrum, she will take up her Stradivari to play Sergei Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto, a work of serenity and humour, combining lyricism and a delight in virtuosity.

Another work of wit and burlesque is Stravinsky’s ballet Jeu de cartes. The Russian composer describes a poker game in three deals with irony and in the spirit of parody. In the end heart trumps the joker. Composed in collaboration with the choreographer George Balanchine in 1936-37 for the American Ballet in New York, it is one of the chief works of neo-classicism.

Uninterrupted high spirits and exuberance mark the last work in the programme: in his Eighth Symphony, Antonín Dvořák strikes that Bohemian folk tone that has made him world-famous. For the movements of this symphony, the Czech composer has assembled a series of poetic impressions that approach the sphere of the symphonic poem. He himself declared his intention of creating a work that distinguished itself from his other symphonies in its individual and novel way of working out musical ideas.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free