Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 1 with Mitsuko Uchida and Simon Rattle

Simon Rattle’s performance of the complete piano concertos of Beethoven was a highlight of the 2009/10 season. The soloist was Mitsuko Uchida: a “queen of her instrument” (The New York Times) who has been charming Berliner Philharmoniker audiences since 1984 with her at once sensitive and sinewy tone. To start off the cycle, the First Piano Concerto was framed by two works by Ligeti and Jean Sibelius’ First Symphony.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Mitsuko Uchida

Barbara Hannigan

Programme Guide

© 2010 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
György Ligeti composer
Mitsuko Uchida piano
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Barbara Hannigan soprano
Jean Sibelius composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy