Simon Rattle and Mitsuko Uchida

This juxtaposition of Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 18 and Olivier Messiaen’s Oiseaux exotiques shows that grace and seriousness are not mutually exclusive, with both works demonstrating a light playfulness and profound substance in a performance by Mitsuko Uchida. To end with, conductor Simon Rattle presents a surprising “eccentric journey through Haydn”!

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Mitsuko Uchida

Programme Guide

© 2014 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composer
Mitsuko Uchida piano
Olivier Messiaen composer
Joseph Haydn composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy