Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 with Mitsuko Uchida and Simon Rattle

Ludwig van Beethoven shows an unusual side of himself in his Fourth Piano Concerto: not bombastic or heroic, but pensive, sensitive, and delicate. The press reported on how Mitsuko Uchida impressively conveys this emotional world, “effortlessly, as if dreamed into the keyboard”. Simon Rattle also conducts Jean Sibelius’s Second Symphony which owes its popularity mainly to its rapturous finale.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Mitsuko Uchida

Programme Guide

© 2010 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
György Ligeti composer
Mitsuko Uchida piano
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Jean Sibelius composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy