Beethoven’s Piano Concertos Nos. 2 and 3 with Mitsuko Uchida and Simon Rattle

With his second and third piano concertos, the young Beethoven established himself as a virtuoso performer and composer who struck a tone of unprecedented self-confidence in his music. Mitsuko Uchida and Simon Rattle present the works as part of their acclaimed cycle of Beethoven concertos. The middle work of the programme is Jean Sibelius’s Third Symphony which combines Nordic timbre with concentrated modernity.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Mitsuko Uchida

Programme Guide

© 2010 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Mitsuko Uchida piano
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Jean Sibelius composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy