Until 26 August 10% early bird discount on the 12-month ticket

Concert to mark the 100th anniversary of Gustav Mahler’s death

Concert to mark the 100th anniversary of Gustav Mahler’s death


Berliner Philharmoniker
Claudio Abbado

Anne Sofie von Otter, Jonas Kaufmann

  • Gustav Mahler
    Adagio from the Symphony No. 10 (Performing version by Deryck Cooke) (00:25:57)

  • Gustav Mahler
    Das Lied von der Erde (01:07:45)

    Anne Sofie von Otter Mezzo-Soprano, Jonas Kaufmann Tenor

Gustav Mahler died 100 years ago in Vienna on 18 May 1911. The Berliner Philharmoniker commemorate this anniversary with a special concert under the direction of their former chief conductor, Claudio Abbado, with Anne Sofie von Otter and Jonas Kaufmann as soloists. Over the decades, the partnership of Abbado and the orchestra frequently turned to the works of Mahler after first performing the Rückert-Lieder in the Philharmonie in 1967. And for many music fans, Abbado's interpretations of Mahler mark the highpoint of his years in Berlin.

Just how enthusiastic the response was, can be understood today from the concert reviews: “It was almost a surprise that they didn't literally bring the house down in the finale. With a concert like this, no-one can match the Philharmoniker,” was how Die Welt described a performance of the Seventh Symphony in 2001. To mark the one hundredth anniversary of the composer's death, Abbado conducts two works by the composer on the theme of saying farewell. On the one hand, Das Lied von der Erde, composed at a time of personal tragedy in 1907 when Mahler's daughter Maria died, and the composer himself found out about his own serious heart condition. As a result, the Lied von der Erde seems in many passages like an elegiac meditation on the finiteness of all life. The same can be said about the Adagio from the Tenth Symphony. The movement starts off tentatively, without any clear direction: music which wants nothing more and which, as it continues, dissolves slowly into nothingness.


Jonas Kaufmann appears by kind permission of Decca Classics.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free