Schoenberg · Brahms / Abbado

Schoenberg · Brahms / Abbado


Berliner Philharmoniker
Claudio Abbado

Christianne Stotijn, Jonas Kaufmann

  • Franz Schubert
    Gretchen am Spinnrade D 118, Nacht und Träume D 827, Erlkönig D 328 (00:14:07)

    Christianne Stotijn Mezzo-Soprano

  • Arnold Schoenberg
    From Gurre-Lieder: Part 1 No. 11: Orchestral Prelude and Lied der Waldtaube (00:21:30)

    Christianne Stotijn Mezzo-Soprano

  • Johannes Brahms
    Rinaldo Cantata (00:47:44)

    Jonas Kaufmann Tenor

  • free

    An introduction by Simon Halsey (00:16:49)

There are conductors who, with advancing years, gradually pare back their repertoire. And then there is Claudio Abbado, who tirelessly introduces exquisite rarities to the public at his guest appearances in Berlin – as is the case in this concert featuring works by Schubert, Schoenberg and Brahms. Abbado will be joined this evening by Christianne Stotijn and Jonas Kaufmann.

The concert opens with rarely heard orchestral arrangements of three Schubert lieder. The beauty and independent substance of the original piano accompaniments enjoy recurring praise, so it will be particularly appealing to hear these interpreted by the Berliner Philharmoniker. With Schoenberg’s Gurrelieder we then encounter original orchestral lieder, a work which proved to be this artist’s greatest success. The concert then closes with Brahms’s cantata Rinaldo which has never been performed before by the Berliner Philharmoniker and gives us an inkling of what an opera by this composer might well have sounded like.

The evening’s soloists are – despite their young years – no longer known only to a select few. The Times recently wrote: “Among young mezzo-sopranos, Christianne Stotijn is in a class apart”, and last year critics polled by Opernwelt named tenor shooting star Jonas Kaufmann “Singer of the Year”.

Jonas Kaufmann appears by kind permission of Decca Classics.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free