Claudio Abbado conducts works by Schumann and Berg

In this concert, Claudio Abbado conducts music full of sensitivity, including Robert Schumann’s Second Symphony, a highly sensitive piece, full of fragile nervousness. He is joined by two top-class soloists in works by Alban Berg: mezzo-soprano Anne Sofie von Otter in the Altenberg-Lieder, and in the Violin Concerto, Isabelle Faust, who impressed the audience with her “soaring, almost halucinatory tone” (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung).

Berliner Philharmoniker

Claudio Abbado

Anne Sofie von Otter

Isabelle Faust

Programme Guide

© 2012 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Claudio Abbado Chief conductor 1990–2002
Robert Schumann composer
Alban Berg composer
Anne Sofie von Otter mezzo-soprano
Isabelle Faust violin

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy