Simon Rattle conducts Mahler’s “Das Lied von der Erde”

In December 2011, Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker brought their performance of all of Gustav Mahler’s major orchestral works to a close with Das Lied von der Erde. Mahler himself described it as “probably the most personal work I have written so far”. And indeed, Mahler, already terminally ill at the time of composition, eulogises here the departure from life with a sincerity that still moves us today.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Gerald Finley

Anne Sofie von Otter

Stuart Skelton

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy