Simon Rattle conducts Schumann, Wagner, Ravel, Debussy and Ligeti

This programme of this concert under the direction of Simon Rattle could be headlined “magical sounds”. The works in the first part all soar high above the temporal world: Ligeti’s atmosphères, Wagner’s Lohengrin prelude, Debussy’s Jeux and Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé. The concert closes with Schumann’s Rhenish Symphony, a work of energetic urgency, but here too there are many ambiguities and shifts in emotion.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2012 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy