Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle

Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Tristan Murail

  • Richard Wagner
    Prelude and Liebestod from "Tristan und Isolde" (00:21:29)

  • Olivier Messiaen
    Turangalîla-Symphonie (01:21:13)

    Pierre-Laurent Aimard Piano, Tristan Murail Ondes Martenot

Aficionados have been looking forward to these weeks immensely, and they have reason to – as the musikfest berlin 08 assembles some of the world’s most outstanding orchestras, lead by the Berliner Philharmoniker and their principle conductor Sir Simon Rattle. This season Sir Simon and his musicians have chosen compositions for which the term ‘key works’ seems rather inadequate: does it really pay tribute to Richard Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde? Hardly. The work is much more than a key. And the Turangalîla Symphony by Olivier Messiaen, whose 100th birthday is being celebrated by the music world this year, stands like a monolith. Presenting both works together in a concert programme (although obviously not the complete Tristan, ‘only’ the prelude to Act 1 and Isolde’s Liebestod), is a wonderful idea..

EMISir Simon Rattle appears by kind permission of EMI Classics.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free