Simon Rattle conducts a concert “à la française”

Although Maurice Ravel’s international fame is due principally to Boléro, the ballet Daphnis et Chloé is considered his real masterpiece. It seems full of sunlight and playful – and then again inscrutable and brutal. Sir Simon Rattle also presents two delightful rarities: Francis Poulenc’s cantata Figure humaine, filled with fragile beauty, and Charles Koechlin’s witty adaptation of the Jungle Book material.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Gijs Leenaars

Programme Guide

© 2016 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Francis Poulenc composer
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Charles Koechlin composer
György Kurtág composer
Maurice Ravel composer
The 12 Cellists of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy