A Schumann evening with Simon Rattle and Mitsuko Uchida

Robert Schumann’s Piano Concerto is the first important work of its genre in the Romantic period: a lyrical journey through psychological landscapes, abounding with lovely melodies. Here, it is sensitively interpreted by Mitsuko Uchida and Simon Rattle. Also on the programme is Schumann’s Fourth Symphony in the original version from 1841 and his Konzertstück for Four Horns and Orchestra, which is rarely heard live, with members of the Berliner Philharmoniker as soloists.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Mitsuko Uchida

Programme Guide

© 2009 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Robert Schumann composer
Stefan Dohr Horn
Radek Baborák horn
Stefan de Leval Jezierski Horn
Sarah Willis Horn
Mitsuko Uchida piano
Bernd Alois Zimmermann composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy