First concert of the Asian tour with Simon Rattle and Seong-Jin Cho

The Berliner Philharmoniker are on a tour of Asia – their last under the direction of Simon Rattle as chief conductor. In the Hong Kong Cultural Centre, the orchestra has the opportunity to show off the full diversity of its sound in the dark cantabile of Brahms’s Fourth Symphony, the spectacular swagger of Richard Strauss’s Don Juan, and the elusive mixture of French flair and jazz in Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G major. The soloist is the Korean rising star Seong-Jin Cho.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2017 RTHK



Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Richard Strauss composer
Maurice Ravel composer
Seong-Jin Cho piano
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy