Bernard Haitink conducts Mahler’s Ninth Symphony

It is almost inconceivable today that Gustav Mahler’s works were long marginalised in musical life. Bernard Haitink, who has an exceptionally fine feel for the fragmented nature of this music, is one of the conductors who brought about the Mahler renaissance in the 1960s. Mahler, says Haitink, “has always troubled me because he doesn’t validate you”. In this concert, he conducts Mahler’s farewell to the world, the Ninth Symphony.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Bernard Haitink

Programme Guide

© 2017 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Bernard Haitink conductor
Gustav Mahler composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy