Berliner Philharmoniker
Bernard Haitink

Leif Ove Andsnes

  • Witold Lutosławski
    Funeral Music for string orchestra (00:18:07)

  • Witold Lutosławski
    Symphony No. 4 (00:25:25)

  • Johannes Brahms
    Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major (00:55:22)

    Leif Ove Andsnes Piano

  • free

    Bernard Haitink and Leif Ove Andsnes about making music in the name of Fukushima (00:17:42)

The Berliner Philharmoniker have followed the catastrophe in Japan resulting from the recent earthquake with great concern. As an expression of their sympathy, the orchestra and their conductor Bernard Haitink are dedicating the broadcast of their concert on Friday, 18 March to the Japanese people.

At the beginning of the concert, Martin Hoffmann, General Manager of the Foundation Berliner Philharmoniker, will make a short speech. The orchestra will then play Witold Lutosławskis Funeral Music for string orchestra in place of the originally planned Im Sommerwind by Anton Webern. The rest of the programme remains unchanged:  Lutosławskis Fourth Symphony will be followed by Johannes Brahms's Piano Concerto No. 2 with Leif Ove Andsnes as soloist.

Ever since their first concert tour with Herbert von Karajan in 1957, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Japanese audiences have had very close ties. Numerous tours by the orchestra and its chamber music ensembles have strengthened this connection. The Berliner Philharmoniker also have a long tradition of working with Japanese musicians. This season, the orchestra gave the premiere of the horn concerto by Toshio Hosokawa in February, and the conductor Yutaka Sado makes his Philharmonic debut in May. Several members of the Berliner Philharmoniker also come from Japan, including the concertmaster Daishin Kashimoto.

EMILeif Ove Andsnes appears by kind permission of EMI Classics.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free