A “Late Night” concert with French chamber music and Simon Rattle at the piano

The two French chamber music works of this Late Night concert show evidence of existential crises – but without sacrificing elegance. Olivier Messiaen wrote his Quatuor pour la fin du temps in 1940/41 in a German prisoner-of-war camp, surrounded by death. Claude Debussy composed his violin sonata in 1917, while he was seriously ill. Members of the Berliner Philharmoniker perform with Sir Simon Rattle at the piano.

Sir Simon Rattle

Daishin Kashimoto

Ludwig Quandt

Wenzel Fuchs

Programme Guide

© 2017 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy