Claudio Abbado conducts Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony at the 2000 Europakonzert from Berlin

Many performances of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony are intended to give musical expression to a festive event. One such occasion was the 2000 Europakonzert from Berlin, conducted by Claudio Abbado – the tenth event of its kind. A stark contrast to Beethoven’s final symphony is provided by his Piano Concert in B-flat major – Beethoven’s first major orchestral work – with Mikhail Pletnev as the soloist.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Claudio Abbado

Mikhail Pletnev

Programme Guide

© 2000 EuroArts Music International



Claudio Abbado Chief conductor 1990–2002
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Mikhail Pletnev piano
Karita Mattila soprano

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy