Simon Rattle conducts Mozart and Strauss at the 2006 New Year’s Eve Concert

A musical double portrait of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Richard Strauss enhanced the 2006 New Year’s Eve Concert with Simon Rattle. There were fascinating connections: with Strauss’s interpretation of the Don Juan story, a subject which was also known to inspire Mozart, and music from the Rosenkavalier, Strauss’s homage to 18th century Vienna. The soloists were Camilla Nylund, Magdalena Kožená, Laura Aikin and – in Mozart’s D minor piano concerto – Mitsuko Uchida.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Mitsuko Uchida

Camilla Nylund

Magdalena Kožená

Laura Aikin

Programme Guide

© 2006 EuroArts Music International



Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Richard Strauss composer
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composer
Mitsuko Uchida piano
Camilla Nylund soprano
Magdalena Kožená soprano
Johann Strauss II composer
Antonín Dvořák composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy