“The Golden Twenties”: Thomas Søndergård conducts Prokofiev, Sibelius and Weill

Kurt Weill’s The Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny confronts us with the darker side of humanity and society. Written at the end of the 1920s, Weill wanted to create a work with this opera “that will deal with the utterly different expressions of life in our time in an appropriate form”. Thomas Søndergård, who is making his Berliner Philharmoniker debut, conducts compositions by Prokofiev and Sibelius in addition to the suite from the opera.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Thomas Søndergård

Programme Guide

© 2021 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Thomas Søndergård conductor
Sergei Prokofiev composer
Jean Sibelius composer
Kurt Weill composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy