Zubin Mehta conducts Bruckner and Messiaen

A century separated Olivier Messiaen and Anton Bruckner, but they had a lot in common: both were among the leading organists of their time, and both were deeply rooted in the Catholic faith. Zubin Mehta combines Messiaen’s Et exspecto resurrectionem mortuorum, a memorial to the dead of both world wars, with Bruckner’s Ninth Symphony. It is not only the summation of the Austrian composer’s work but also a personal farewell to this world.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta

Programme Guide

© 2021 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Zubin Mehta conductor
Olivier Messiaen composer
Anton Bruckner composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy