Kirill Petrenko conducts Dallapiccola’s “The Prisoner”

Kirill Petrenko devotes this concert to three composers of the post-war avant-garde. Luigi Dallapiccola’s The Prisoner is about hope, freedom and their misuse. Bernd Alois Zimmermann and Iannis Xenakis also wrote works opposing injustice and oppression. Zimmermann’s Symphony in one movement leads the listener “from an apocalyptic threat to mystic immersion”, according to the composer, while in Empreintes Xenakis creates a shimmering soundscape.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Wolfgang Koch

Ekaterina Semenchuk

Wolfgang Ablinger-Sperrhacke

Caspar Singh

Oliver Boyd

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Programme Guide

© 2022 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Iannis Xenakis composer
Bernd Alois Zimmermann composer
Luigi Dallapiccola composer
Wolfgang Koch baritone
Ekaterina Semenchuk mezzo-soprano
Wolfgang Ablinger-Sperrhacke tenor
Rundfunkchor Berlin

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy