Marek Janowski and Marc-André Hamelin with Reger and Schumann

With his Piano Concerto, Max Reger composed a companion piece to Johannes Brahms’s powerful Piano Concerto No. 1. The work surpasses its model in force and is considered one of the most difficult pieces of the genre. To celebrate Reger’s 150th birthday, it is presented here by pianist Marc-­André Hamelin. At his side will be conductor Marek Janowski, a specialist in Romantic repertoire, who has also programmed Robert Schumann’s euphoric “Rhenish”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Marek Janowski

Marc-André Hamelin

Programme Guide

© 2022 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Marek Janowski conductor
Max Reger composer
Marc-André Hamelin piano
Robert Schumann composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy