Marek Janowski and Noah Bendix-Balgley

With this programme we commemorate Max Bruch, the 100th anniversary of whose death is remembered in 2020. Our 1st concertmaster, Noah Bendix-Balgley, is the soloist in this performance of Bruch’s First Violin Concerto with the Berliner Philharmoniker under the baton of Marek Janowski. With its yearning opening movement and sparkling finale, this work became the composer’s most popular work. The second part of the concert is dedicated to Johannes Brahms, a contemporary of Bruch. His Serenade No. 2 is characterised by the dark, warm sound typical of Brahms and is considered a milestone on the composer’s path to the symphony.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Marek Janowski

Noah Bendix-Balgley

Programme Guide

© 2020 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Marek Janowski conductor
Max Bruch composer
Noah Bendix-Balgley violin, composer
Johann Sebastian Bach composer
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy