Pablo Heras-Casado conducts Mendelssohn’s “Scottish” works

Evocative impressions of Scotland by Felix Mendelssohn – the overture The Hebrides and the Third Symphony – form the first and last items in this concert with Pablo Heras-Casado. Between these two works, we also hear Karol Szymanowski’s Fourth Symphony, a refined Impressionist work whose piano part – played here by star pianist Marc-André Hamelin – invokes the great tradition of the Romantic solo concerto.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Pablo Heras-Casado

Marc-André Hamelin

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Pablo Heras-Casado conductor
Felix Mendelssohn composer
Karol Szymanowski composer
Marc-André Hamelin piano
Luciano Berio composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy