“Rhythm and Dance” with Kent Nagano and Susan Graham at the Waldbühne

The theme of the Berliner Philharmoniker’s 2000 Waldbühne concert was Rhythm and Dance. Kent Nagano assembled a number of popular works by George Gershwin alongside Maurice Ravel’s La Valse and the Second Suite from Daphnis et Chloé plus a lesson in the Japanese art of drumming to create a summer evening’s concert remarkable for its verve and virtuosity. Guest stars included the American mezzo-soprano Susan Graham and the legendary Japanese drummer Eitetsu Hayashi.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kent Nagano

Momo Kodama

Mari Kodama

Eitetsu Hayashi

Susan Graham

Programme Guide

© 2000 EuroArts Music International

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy