Herbert Blomstedt and Leif Ove Andsnes

A medieval city, a knight on horseback, and the sound of the forest were atmospheric inner images that inspired Anton Bruckner to create his mysteriously luminous Fourth Symphony. The conductor of this performance is Herbert Blomstedt, one of the foremost interpreters of Bruckner. In Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 22 – which audibly picks up on the soundscape of the opera Le nozze di Figaro which he wrote at the same time – we also hear Leif Ove Andsnes, the Berliner Philharmoniker’s Pianist in Residence for 2010/11.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Herbert Blomstedt

Leif Ove Andsnes

Programme Guide

© 2020 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Herbert Blomstedt conductor
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composer
Leif Ove Andsnes piano
Edvard Grieg composer
Anton Bruckner composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy