Simon Rattle and Yefim Bronfman

One of the most yearning compositions ever written opens this concert from December 2014: Wagner’s Tristan prelude. The main works of this evening conducted by Simon Rattle are Jean Sibelius’s mystical tone poem The Swan of Tuonela and his austere Nordic Fifth Symphony, plus the premiere of the piano concerto Trauermarsch by Jörg Widmann, one of the most interesting composers of the younger generation, with Yefim Bronfman as the soloist.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Yefim Bronfman

Programme Guide

© 2014 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Richard Wagner composer
Yefim Bronfman piano
Jörg Widmann Composer, clarinet, conductor
Jean Sibelius composer
Bruno Delepelaire cello
Dominik Wollenweber cor anglais

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy