Kurt Sanderling conducts Tchaikovsky and Saint-Saëns

Kurt Sanderling was one of a group of legendary conductors that included Sergiu Celibidache, Georg Solti and Günter Wand, all of whom were born in 1912. For the present concert with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 1992, he chose two 19th-century masterpieces: Saint-Saëns’s Second Piano Concerto, in which the brilliant soloist was the young Yefim Bronfman, and Tchaikovsky’s impassioned Fourth Symphony, one of Sanderling’s calling cards.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kurt Sanderling

Yefim Bronfman

Programme Guide

© 1992 EuroArts Music International


Kurt Sanderling conductor
Camille Saint-Saëns composer
Yefim Bronfman piano
Domenico Scarlatti composer
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy