Simon Rattle with Mitsuko Uchida and Amihai Grosz

Delicate melancholy and lyrical sensuousness characterise the two solo concertos on this programme with Simon Rattle, Mitsuko Uchida and Amihai Grosz. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart seems to reflect on his life in his last piano concerto, while William Walton’s Viola Concerto is dominated by the dark tone of the solo instrument. As a counterpoint, the concert closes with Zoltán Kodály’s humorously grotesque Háry János Suite.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Mitsuko Uchida

Amihai Grosz

Programme Guide

© 2017 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composer
Mitsuko Uchida piano
William Walton composer
Amihai Grosz viola
Zoltán Kodály composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy