Conclusion of the Sibelius cycle with Simon Rattle

Complete symphonic performances are always a special event for the Berliner Philharmoniker. That includes this Sibelius cycle from 2015, which culminated in Simon Rattle conducting three symphonies in a row. Sibelius’s Symphonies Nos. 5, 6 and 7 fuse the qualities of the preceding works: the effusive Nordic tone of the first two symphonies, and the experimental form language and harmonies of Symphonies Nos. 3 and 4.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2015 Berlin Phil Media GmbH


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Jean Sibelius composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy