Simon Rattle and Emanuel Ax

“New worlds on earth, in the sky, or in the minds of men”: Edgard Varèse intended to convey all of that in his famous Amèriques. A similar intention is recognisable at this concert with Simon Rattle and Emanuel Ax. Familiar works by Debussy, Ravel and Franck can be heard in a completely new light by being juxtaposed against discoveries by Betsy Jolas and Percy Grainger – an exciting musical journey.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Emanuel Ax

Programme Guide

© 2016 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Claude Debussy composer
Betsy Jolas composer
César Franck composer
Emanuel Ax piano
Maurice Ravel composer
Percy Grainger composer
Edgard Varèse composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy