Andris Nelsons conducts Mahler’s Fifth Symphony


Berliner Philharmoniker
Andris Nelsons

Håkan Hardenberger

  • HK Gruber
    Aerial, Concerto for trumpet and orchestra (00:29:04)

    Håkan Hardenberger Trumpet

  • Gustav Mahler
    Symphony No. 5 (01:23:30)

  • free

    Andris Nelsons and Håkan Hardenberger in conversation with Sarah Willis (00:21:13)

HK Gruber writes about his trumpet concerto Aerial, premiered in 1999 in London: “The concerto offers two aerial views, firstly an imaginary landscape beneath the Northern Lights bearing an inscription from Emily Dickinson’s poem Wild Nights: ‘Done with the compass – Done with the chart!’ In part this refers to the pure invention that can be conjured up through the skills of a great trumpeter. ... The second and larger of the two aerial views, entitled Gone Dancing, has a view as if from another planet – our world is empty of human life, but a lone sign bears the words ‘Gone Dancing’.” This subtle and virtuoso composition can be experienced in the Philharmonie with the interpreter of the premiere, Håkan Hardenberger – veritably a “great trumpeter”.

Andris Nelsons – a welcome guest of the orchestra on the conductor’s podium of the Berliner Philharmoniker since his highly acclaimed debut in 2010 – will place Gustav Mahler’s Fifth Symphony on the second half of the concert. Mahler complained that the composition, first performed in 1904 in Cologne, was a “cursed work” that “no one understands”. Today, the Fifth Symphony is among the most frequently played works by Mahler; we can be doubly excited to experience the Latvian conductor’s interpretation.