Andris Nelsons and Emanuel Ax interpret Mozart and Strauss


Berliner Philharmoniker
Andris Nelsons

Emanuel Ax

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    Piano Concerto in E flat major K. 449 (00:26:58)

    Emanuel Ax Piano

  • Richard Strauss
    Burleske in D minor for piano and orchestra (00:25:17)

    Emanuel Ax Piano

  • Frédéric Chopin
    Waltz in A minor, Op. 34 No. 2 (00:06:19)

    Emanuel Ax Piano

  • Richard Strauss
    Also sprach Zarathustra (00:42:02)

  • free

    Emanuel Ax in conversation with Matthew Hunter (00:16:50)

An unusual combination: Mozart’s Piano Concerto in E flat major K. 449 and Richard Strauss’s Burleske for piano and orchestra at one concert. But pianist Emanuel Ax already gave a guest performance with the Berlin Philharmoniker with this programme: in June 2001 he played the two works with Bernard Haitink as conductor. The reviewer from the Berliner Morgenpost praised Ax’s Mozart interpretation when he wrote that Ax was no “lion” of the keyboard, more a dove that knows how to coo intelligently with his fingers. Richard Strauss, whose 150th birthday will be celebrated this year, admired Mozart all his life. For him, the Viennese classic was the “incarnation of the pure artist” and a great role model, particularly in the field of opera. The Burleske, however, is in the tradition of Johannes Brahms. The work of the 21-year old Strauss brings together different elements: symphonic poem, piano concerto, farce. Witty, ironic, highly virtuoso – it is considered a challenge for any pianist.

When, ten years later, Richard Strauss composed his orchestral piece Also sprach Zarathustra, inspired by Friedrich Nietzsche’s philosophical treatise of the same name, it had been quite some time since he was a “youngster” composer. Indeed, with a series of tone poems he had already proven himself a master of the genre. Since being used in Stanley Kubrick’s film 2001: A Space Odyssey, the work’s distinctive beginning with a rising trumpet motif has acquired cult status. Andris Nelsons, who is conducting the programme, has already proven himself an accomplished Strauss interpreter with performances with the Berlin Philharmonic of the Rosenkavalier Suite and A Hero’s Life.