Bernard Haitink conducts Schubert and Shostakovich

Dmitri Shostakovich’s last symphony is a masterpiece of ambiguity. Through his use of quotations from his own compositions and from works by Wagner and Rossini, he combines an autobiographical record with a walk through the history of music. Bernard Haitink conducted the work in May 2015 with, to quote the press, “unsurpassable precision”. Also on the programme: Franz Schubert’s Fifth Symphony.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Bernard Haitink

Programme Guide

© 2015 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy