Octets by Franz Schubert and Jörg Widmann

Schubert’s Octet is one of the works with which the composer wanted to “prepare the way for the grand symphony”. And so here the delightful charm of the divertimento is mixed with an expression of orchestral grandeur. We also hear the multifaceted Octet of Jörg Widmann which is clearly inspired by Schubert. In addition to members of the Berliner Philharmoniker, the performers include the violinist Christian Tetzlaff, Artist in Residence in the 2014/2015 season.

Members of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Christian Tetzlaff

Programme Guide

© 2015 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy