Philharmonic String Quartet: Music of remembrance

As a female composer in the 19th century, Fanny Hensel could not hope for acclaim. Yet her E-flat major quartet impressively demonstrates her extraordinary talent. It is played here by the Philharmonic String Quartet, a young generation of the Berliner Philharmoniker, together with her brother Felix Mendelssohn’s Sixth Quartet in which he commemorated his beloved sister Fanny Hensel who died at an early age. A sense of mourning also characterises the works of Puccini and Barber.

Philharmonic String Quartet

Dorian Xhoxhi

Johanna Pichlmair

Naoko Shimizu

Christoph Heesch

Programme Guide

© 2023 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy