The 1989 concert for citizens of the GDR

The Berlin Wall fell on 9 November 1989, thus ending the decades-long division of Europe and the world. It was an event of both political and emotional significance which the Berliner Philharmoniker celebrated three days later with a concert which itself is now considered a historic event. Especially for citizens of the GDR, Daniel Barenboim conducted the First Piano Concerto (with himself as soloist), and the Seventh Symphony by Ludwig van Beethoven.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Barenboim

Programme Guide

© 1989 rbb

Related interviews


Daniel Barenboim Conductor, piano
Ludwig van Beethoven composer
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy