Daniel Barenboim and Emmanuel Pahud

Hector Berlioz wrote countless love letters to actress Harriet Smithson – none were ever answered. The Symphonie fantastique became the composer’s outlet: the depiction of an extreme love drama in which the lover is murdered and the murderer is executed. The conductor of the spectacular score here is Daniel Barenboim. The programme also includes the flute concertos by Ferruccio Busoni and Jacques Ibert – captivating music which is dynamic, transparent and surprising. The soloist is Emmanuel Pahud, principal flute of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Barenboim

Emmanuel Pahud

Programme Guide

© 2020 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Daniel Barenboim conductor, piano
Jacques Ibert composer
Emmanuel Pahud flute
Ferruccio Busoni composer
Hector Berlioz composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy