Elgar’s Cello Concerto with Alisa Weilerstein and Daniel Barenboim

Yo-Yo Ma highlighted her “passion, fearlessness and great musical intelligence” – high praise which the American cellist Alisa Weilerstein demonstrated to everyone she deserved when she made her debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker with Elgar’s sonorous Cello Concerto. In charge of the musical proceedings was Daniel Barenboim, who also conducted the prelude to the third act of Wagner’s Meistersinger and Brahms’s First Symphony.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Daniel Barenboim

Alisa Weilerstein

Programme Guide

© 2010 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Daniel Barenboim conductor, piano
Richard Wagner composer
Edward Elgar composer
Alisa Weilerstein cello
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy