Murray Perahia and Sir Simon Rattle with Schumann’s Piano Concerto


Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle

Murray Perahia, Kate Royal, Rundfunkchor Berlin, Christian Gerhaher

  • Luciano Berio
    E vó for soprano and instruments (00:06:30)

    Barbara Kind Soprano

  • Robert Schumann
    Nachtlied (00:09:28)

    Simon Halsey Chorus Master, Rundfunkchor Berlin

  • Robert Schumann
    Piano Concerto in A minor (00:35:41)

    Murray Perahia Piano

  • Luciano Berio
    O King for mezzo-soprano and five players (00:06:18)

    Kate Royal Soprano

  • Gabriel Fauré
    Requiem (1900 version) (00:41:38)

    Rundfunkchor Berlin, Kate Royal Soprano, Simon Halsey Chorus Master, Christian Gerhaher Baritone

  • free

    Murray Perahia on his thoughts and feelings about music (00:17:55)

“The soul of a poet, the mind of a thinker, the hands of a virtuoso,” was how an American critic succinctly and accurately described the qualities of Murray Perahia. As Pianist in Residence with the Berliner Philharmoniker for the 2011/2012 season, he is heard regularly in solo and chamber concerts in Berlin. An outstanding event of this partnership is Perahia’s guest appearance at this philharmonic concert in which he performs the Piano Concerto of Robert Schumann together with Sir Simon Rattle.

Perahia’s rank as one of the great poets among the pianists of our time is impressively revealed in this work, where melodic playing, gentle story-telling and romantic rhapsodising are in the foreground, rather than the traditional contrast of clearly contoured themes. Schumann’s Nachtlied for choir and orchestra inhabits a similar world of expression – and in contrast to the popular piano concerto, this piece is a real discovery, full of drama and transcendency.

The concert’s more recent works also have a nocturnal hue. E vó und O King by Luciano Berio are subdued laments; in the first piece, a lullaby is sung to a murdered child, and in the latter, Berio mourns the assassination of Martin Luther King. The concert closes with Gabriel Fauré’s Requiem. Infused with delicate melancholy, it culminates in a sunny vision of paradise – and the promise that even the darkest night is always followed by the dawn.

Learn more about Murray Perahia in our documentary “Murray Perahia – Not of this world

EMISir Simon Rattle appears by courtesy of EMI Classics.


Sony Classical Murray Perahia and Christian Gerhaher appear by courtesy of Sony Classical.

Watch now

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Schumann and Brahms.

Watch concert for free