Simon Rattle conducts Mahler’s “Symphony of a Thousand”

The choirs stretched into the audience galleries when Simon Rattle conducted a much applauded and cheered performance of Gustav Mahler’s Symphony of a Thousand in 2011. Even the premiere in 1910 attended by Siegfried Wagner, Richard Strauss, Arnold Schoenberg, Bruno Walter, Stefan Zweig and Thomas Mann was the most triumphant success in the life of Mahler. And the composer himself felt the symphony to be “the grandest thing I have done yet”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Knaben des Staats- und Domchors Berlin

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy