Ravel’s Piano Concerto with Hélène Grimaud and Tugan Sokhiev

Maurice Ravel’s G major Piano Concerto is a world in itself. Here there are echoes of jazz to be found as well as Stravinsky-like asperity and tender cantilenas. In 2009, Hélène Grimaud brought out the many facets of the work with consummate ease and sensitivity. Tugan Sokhiev, who made his conducting debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in this concert, closed the evening with Sergei Rachmaninov’s melancholy Second Symphony.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev

Hélène Grimaud

Programme Guide

© 2010 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Tugan Sokhiev conductor
Heinz Holliger Composer, conductor
Maurice Ravel composer
Hélène Grimaud piano
Sergei Rachmaninov composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy