Yo-Yo Ma plays Shostakovich

Given its premiere on his 60th birthday, Shostakovitch’s Second Cello Concerto comes across like a nuanced reflection on his own life. Only the best cellists are capable of finding the right, often multiply-fractured tone of this concerto. Yo-yo Ma, who performed the work with David Zinman in 2011 is doubtlessly one of them. The remainder of the programme presents Nordic music: Cold Heat by Anders Hillborg and Carl Nielsen’s Fifth Symphony.

Berliner Philharmoniker

David Zinman

Yo-Yo Ma

Programme Guide

© 2011 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy