Sir Simon Rattle conducts Britten’s “War Requiem”

Benjamin Britten’s War Requiem has a unique place in the history of music. Rather than an abstract, liturgical work, it directly conveys the horrors and devastating grief unleashed by war. In 2013, the year in which the 100th anniversary of Britten’s birth was celebrated, Simon Rattle performed the Requiem for the first time with the Berliner Philharmoniker. In addition to the Rundfunkchor Berlin, the singers included an outstanding ensemble of soloists.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Emily Magee

John Mark Ainsley

Matthias Goerne

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Programme Guide

© 2013 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Benjamin Britten composer
Emily Magee soprano
John Mark Ainsley tenor
Matthias Goerne baritone
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Simon Halsey chorus master

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy