Simon Rattle conducts “Petrushka”

On their 2017 Asian tour, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Simon Rattle are presenting a Russian programme that underlines the range of qualities of the orchestra. Stravinsky’s Petrushka, for example, requires intense colours and concentrated energy, while in Rachmaninov’s Third Symphony, it is warmth and airy spaciousness that count. There is also a new work by the Korean composer Unsuk Chin. Before the tour began, the musicians presented the programme in the Berlin Philharmonie.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2017 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Igor Stravinsky composer
Unsuk Chin composer
Sergei Rachmaninov composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy