Simon Rattle conducts Brahms, Lutosławski and Widmann

This concert is almost a condensed retrospective of the Rattle era. For example, Sir Simon’s enthusiasm for contemporary music is revealed in the premiere of a short work by Jörg Widmann; in Lutosławski’s Third Symphony, on the other hand, he once again shows what imaginative music the 20th century has left behind, and finally, Rattle’s continuous work on the great classics of the repertoire is represented by Brahms’s First Symphony.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Programme Guide

© 2018 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Jörg Widmann Composer, clarinet, conductor
Witold Lutosławski composer
Johannes Brahms composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy