Simon Rattle conducts Mahler’s Second Symphony

It was a concert with Gustav Mahler’s Second Symphony that inspired the 12-year-old Simon Rattle to become a conductor. Explaining his continued fascination with the work, Rattle said, “Mahler aimed to put the entire world into a symphony. And this world goes from the death rites of some hero through a memory of what life was in both its beauty and its horror and final redemption.”

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle

Camilla Tilling

Bernarda Fink

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Programme Guide

© 2012 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Sir Simon Rattle Chief conductor 2002–2018
Hugo Wolf composer
Camilla Tilling soprano
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Simon Halsey chorus master
Gustav Mahler composer
Bernarda Fink contralto

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy