Kirill Petrenko and Patricia Kopatchinskaja

In this concert, Kirill Petrenko made his last appearance with the Berliner Philharmoniker before taking up office as their chief conductor. First, soloist Patricia Kopatchinskaja showed how much virtuosity and expressive variety there is in Arnold Schoenberg’s Violin Concerto. Then came Tchaikovsky’s passionate Fifth Symphony in a performance full of power and dedication, “with a final passage like a casting out of devils .... The hall was completely breathless with enthusiasm and anticipation of what the future holds” (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung).

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko

Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Programme Guide

© 2019 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


Kirill Petrenko Chief conductor since 2019
Arnold Schoenberg composer
Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin
Maurice Ravel composer
Bruno Delepelaire cello
Darius Milhaud composer
Andreas Ottensamer clarinet
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy