François-Xavier Roth and Carolin Widmann

François-Xavier Roth, Generalmusikdirektor of the City of Cologne, presents an evening of fascinating contrasts. He interweaves movements from Debussy’s vividly iridescent Images with the spherical soundscapes of György Ligeti’s famous works Lontano and Atmosphères. In addition there is Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s colourful Violin Concerto with Carolin Widmann as the soloist – the “most headstrong violinist of her generation” (Die Zeit).

Berliner Philharmoniker

François-Xavier Roth

Carolin Widmann

Programme Guide

© 2018 Berlin Phil Media GmbH

Related interviews


François-Xavier Roth conductor
Igor Stravinsky composer
Bernd Alois Zimmermann composer
Carolin Widmann violin
Claude Debussy composer
György Ligeti composer

Our recommendations

Help Contact
How to watch Newsletter Institutional Access Access Vouchers
Legal notice Terms of use Privacy Policy